I have been reading a series of articles titled  the joy of praying for others, and am discovering some new insights on the discipline of intercessory prayer.  We all have those people for whom we pray regularly, family and good friends, but these articles expand that to members of your congregation, to people in other nations and even those nations themselves.

While I regularly pray for all these issues during the prayers of intercession during Sunday worship, and occasionally while listening to the evening news, I don’t do so on a regular basis.  This area requires some thought and meditation as I consider my calling to pray for God’s world and God’s people.

But first I begin with those people who fill my heart to overflowing…. my daughter, her husband and the two most handsome grandsons in the world.  Loving them is easy, praying for them is not always as easy as my heart often overflows and the words are beyond me.  When I have those moments I turn to this prayer which circulated on the internet a while back, and  the language though cumbersome, does sum up  the kind of relationship I pray each of them will have with our God.

Grant to my children and grandchildren your grace, most merciful Jesus, that it may be with them and in them now and to the end of their lives.  Grant that they may always desire and will those things that are acceptable and most dear to you.  Let your will be theirs, and let their will ever follow yours and agree perfectly with it.  Let their will be in complete unison with your will.  In Jesus name, Amen.

