Tags

, , , ,

When I woke up this morning, I was humming the hymn When I survey the wondrous cross, and the words of the fourth verse were running through my mind.  It seems like such an appropriate response to the miracle of life, forgiveness and salvation.

Were the whole realm of nature mine,
That were a present far too small;
Love so amazing, so divine,
Demands my soul, my life, my all.

I have spent the whole morning pondering this hymn and wondering if it were in my power what is it  that I could give God that would be equal to the gift he has given me.    There is nothing.  And that is  the point of a gift of grace, it is freely given with no expectation on any of us to make an appropriate response.  Just as we cannot earn our salvation, we cannot pay for it after ward.

All we can do, is to pour out our love and gratitude before God–so that is  what I will do.  In a few minutes I will go to worship and in the company of the other saints in this place will sing praises to God.  Jesus Christ is Risen.  He is risen indeed.  Hallelujah.


