Tags

, , ,

I am having a wonderful time with my grandsons.  But as they are only 3 and 1 the conversation does get limited.  Yes that’s a ball.  Good job drawing.  Yummy.  Car.  A car says vroom.  The nice thing is that because we talk on the phone often our relationship picked up immediately without any real ‘shy” time.  I love our time together.  It is very precious to me.  Yet, as much as I love those conversations, there are moments when I long for adult conversation.

A couple of days ago, my daughter and I travelled to visit a friend for a play-date.  The boys played with their friend, my daughter talked with her friend, and I talkled with the friend’s mother, who as it happens, has been a long time friend of mine.  We hadn’t seen each other since August, and had only emailed infrequently in the interim, but we sat down with a cup of tea and had a great deep conversation.  We talked about all those things that are of the greatest importance….. our children and their  life-mates, our grandchildren, our faith, God, our congregaitons, God’s calling, and the importance of the spiritual disciplines. 

Our conversation flowed, as if we had not been apart for the last 8 months with no contact.  We just picked up where we left off.  My friend commented that it was much the same way in the depth of her relaionship with God.  She has noticed that it can take 2 to 3 weeks of no study and no prayer before she notices the lack of God’s presence in her life; but that when she sits down with God the relationship they share picks up right where it left off.  They don’t have to try and re-establish thier relationship, it is there as solid as it ever was. 

Picking up with God after a period of absence is just like sitting down with a good friend who you haven’t seen for a long time and the friendship takes off like it was only yesterday.

It seems to me that we can get in the way of picking up that friendship.  We complain about the distance between us and God and we don’t know how to get it back.  We can feel guilty about letting the relationship slip and that guilt holds us back.  We get out of the habit of prayer and the new habits take root in our lives….. BUT if we just stop and spend time with God again, we will discover that our time together is as rich and deep and meaningful as it has always been.  . 

