Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday afternoon I found myself back at the lake.  This time it was not because I needed the refreshment of enjoying God in the beauty of his creation, but because I needed to be reminded of the awesome, fearsome, and tremendous power and majesty of God.  If God has the power to create all that I can see, then God has the power to carry the burdens  that I needed to place before him.

A few days before I had volunteered to be a burden bearer for a friend.  I know the joy and blessing of having people do this  for me and it is a small thing that gives such big gifts of grace.  Therefore I am honored to be able to do that small thing for another person.

The truth about being a burden bearer is that it is a small thing.  In fact when you are a burden bearer you simply are a delivery person.  None of us are meant to carry burdens, at least not heavy ones.

Jesus says:  My yoke is easy and my burden is light.  (Matthew 11:30)

If what we are carrying is heavy we need to pass it off.  And God is the one to whom we pass our burdens.  After all that is why he gave us Jesus.  To bear our sins, yes; but also  to bear our worries, concerns, dilemmas, and burdens.

So I found myself back at the lake, to encounter the fearsome and powerful majesty of God and give him the burden my friend had trusted me with along with a few other burdens I had picked up along the way.  The concerns of other friends.  The painful issues we had prayed about at Presbytery.  The people I know going through health issues.  And I gave them to all to God.  Then, immeasurably lightened, and profoundly grateful I left  with praise on my lips.  

For me, one of the great blessings about engaging in prayer is that we learn that we can trust God to take care of those things that we give to him.  As I turned my feet toward home, I knew that those burdens were safely lodged with the only one who had the power to work on each of those issues, and to give each individual the gift of grace that they needed in each situation.   

God is awesome.  God is grand.  God is more than we can ask or imagine.  The hymn truly says it all.

O Lord my God! when I in awesome wonder
Consider all the works Thy hand hath made
I see the stars, I hear the mighty thunder
Thy power throughout the universe displayed

Then sings my soul, my Saviour God to Thee
How great Thou art! How great Thou art!
Then sings my soul, my Saviour God, to Thee
How great Thou art! How great Thou art!
