Tags

, , , , , ,

Today I have been spending my time trying to escape the heat.  In my part of the world, a fruitless endeavor.  I have also been trying to figure out how to respond to the joy challenge for the day.

What does it mean to give thanks for things found in the light?

What is found in light?  Good things according to the Scriptural record.  Things that can withstand the scrutiny of light are those things that lift us up, edify us, and reveal Christ.  Those things of the dark, by implication then point in another direction…..

except…….Nicodemus came to Jesus in the dark of the night to ask about being born again.

except.…. I am by inclination a night owl (That’s part of why last night after Presbytery I was too wired to sleep)… and as a night owl, I get energized after the sun goes down.  It is most often at night that I read Scripture and pray, and I don’t even want to think about how many night time hours are spent lying awake thinking about the things of God.   In the night, all the distractions of the day are gone and I am much more aware of that still small voice.  (Yes I do know that the point of growing spiritually is to hear that voice at all hours, I am working on it, but I hear it most often in the still of the night.)

So, giving thanks for three things that are found in light….

Okay, so first of all is the obvious.  Jesus.  

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2
He was in the beginning with God. 3 All things came into being through Him, and apart from Him nothing came into being that has come into being. 4 In Him was life, and the life was the Light of men. 5 The Light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it.  John 1: 1-5
Jesus is the light of the world, and in his light the love of God is revealed.  
 
So quite frankly I don’t see the need to find two other things for which to give thanks, Jesus is above all, greater than all, more full of light than anything.
 
The light of the world.  Thanks be to God.   
