Tags

, , , , ,

My friend Becky  http://www.ministrytomotherhood.com  wrote in her blog today the following list of her wants and desires:

I want to help create a space where all can come.
I want to feel the Holy Spirit in our midst as we work with God.
I want to minister in real ways, relevant ways to people who need something different, something new.
I want to live and practice what Jesus commanded us to do, knowing that he will be with us.

Will you join me?

It seems to me that we too often come before God with the shopping list of our wants and forget that there are things that God deeply desires.  

courtesy Google Images

God desires us to have peace…. but the way in which we find peace is by working alongside God to bring peace.

God desires us to have joy…. but the way to have joy is to live with gratitude before God for all that he does for us.

God desires us to have hope…. but the way to have hope is to endure with God and to trust in his leading even when things don’t go well.

God wants us to have the desires of our hearts…. but he first asks us to delight ourselves in him.

The corrective to the list of I wants….. is to first figure out what God wants and then to align ourselves as assistants in his service.  Look again at the list of what Becky wants….

I want to help create a space where all can come.
I want to feel the Holy Spirit in our midst as we work with God.
I want to minister in real ways, relevant ways to people who need something different, something new.
I want to live and practice what Jesus commanded us to do, knowing that he will be with us.

Will you join me?

Clearly she has spent time learning about the heart of God.  She wants what God wants.  

She wants to make a place where all the people whom God loves feel welcome.

She wants to know that what she does is done in the strength and guidance of the Holy Spirit.

She wants to meet people’s real, deep, spiritual needs as she shares God’s love with them.

She wants to be a reflection of Jesus in the world.

She wants us to be united with her and with God as we work together to establish God’s kingdom.

courtesy google images

To that all I can say is Amen, sign me up sister. 

