Tags

, , , , , , , ,

google images

In Genesis, chapter 9 we read this promise from God, given to us following the flood that destroyed the whole earth.

I establish my covenant with you, that never again shall all flesh be cut off by the waters of a flood, and never again shall there be a flood to destroy the earth.’ God said, ‘This is the sign of the covenant that I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for all future generations: I have set my bow in the clouds, and it shall be a sign of the covenant between me and the earth. When I bring clouds over the earth and the bow is seen in the clouds, I will remember my covenant that is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh; and the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all flesh.  (NRSV)

Whenever we see that rainbow it reminds us of God’s promise, but the more important thing is that the rainbow reminds God of his promise.  We know  that God will remember, but he also wants us to realize that the reminder of his promise is always in front of him.  Then the other night as I was engaged in my evening reading of Scripture I marveled at this passage in the Book of the Revelation, chapter 4

And he that sat was to look on like a jasper and a sardine stone: and there was a rainbow round about the throne, in sight like to an emerald.  New King James

It struck me that God designed his throne in such a way that he was reminded not only daily, but hour by hour and minute by minute that his love for us was overwhelming, and that no matter how angry we make him, (and we do) he will never again destroy us or our habitat.  The reminder of God’s grace is always in front of his face, both in the rainbow and in the Lamb who is seated to his right.

No matter how much I learn about the depth and breadth of God’s love, every single time I learn more I am amazed all over again at how much greater that love is than I can ever know.  That realization in comforting, humbling, and encouraging.  God loves me, regardless of how I behave to him and to others.  I have done nothing to deserve that love and I can do nothing to continue to deserve that love.  I also note that there is nothing I can do that will cause that love to be withdrawn from me…nothing, ever.

My prayer is that I will grow more loving until the love I have to give begins to resemble the love that God gives.  This, I realize, is the work of a lifetime.  But what else do I have to do that is as important?

Let us never forget that God’s love is immense and eternal.

