Tags

, , , , ,

I know that God loves me and cares for me.  I do.  More to the point there have been times in my life when God’s care and providence have proven themselves to be right there at the point when I most needed them.  

The last week or so, I have been facing the unfortunate reality of half time work.   Managing rent and all the other sundry expenses, as well as unexpected repairs to my car have brought me into the zone of worrying about tomorrow.  Prayers seem more like lectures where I remind God that he has promised to bless me and prosper me and that it is time, RIGHT NOW, to reveal the location to which he is next calling me to minister.

Then last night in my devotional time I was reflecting on the steadfast love of God, and his eternal care and I realized that my troubles are indeed important to God, but that he sees them from an eternal perspective as balanced by the greater blessing he has planned than the immediate solution that I am seeking.  (sorry for the long convoluted sentence folks)  

Today on my cousin’s facebook feed I found this inspiration: 

I realized that, for me, giving up on God is not an option.  God does not and will not give up on me, and I will not give up on him. Despite what I see around me, I am blessed and loved and cared for.  I have options.  So at this point I reaffirm that I choose to follow and serve God no matter where that journey may lead me.  Moreover, I affirm that I will trust God to take care of me in all circumstances.  

I will not  give up.

I will continue to trust.

I will serve the Lord.

Last night I meditated on these verses from Psalm 119:

89 Your word, Lord, is eternal;
    it stands firm in the heavens.
90 Your faithfulness continues through all generations;
    you established the earth, and it endures.
91 Your laws endure to this day,
    for all things serve you.

The challenge of faith, is to trust in God when the evidence being presented to you suggests that God is absent.  It certainly is proving so for me, AND YET, I believe that what God is doing is not discernible to the human  eye and spirit.  That does not  mean that God is not active.  When we lose confidence and faith we turn our eyes to the wrong place.  For me I find my comfort and my confidence in God’s Word.  This is truth that has been tested over the ages and God has never been found wanting.  THAT IS GOOD ENOUGH FOR ME!

 

