google images

Every day I am reminded that when we live in an attitude of joy, it really only takes the little things to please us and make our joy tank full to overflowing.

I was grocery shopping in a store that has recently been beautifully renovated. It is bright and shiny and nicely laid out.  

I had barely started to make my way through the produce section, when a woman came up to me and said, “I think they have a woman in charge here.  I was just in the bathroom and it is beautiful and very clean.”  She could hardly contain her excitement, she was bubbling over with it.  A pretty and very clean bathroom was all it took.

I continued to make my way through the store and was myself amazed.  I hadn’t been there in a while, but I was looking for some things the small store in my own town doesn’t carry.  Not only did I find everything on my special list, I also found a plethora of new gluten free products.  I felt like a kid in a candy store, wondering which products to try first.

Sometimes it is the same way when I read Scripture, or an inspirational book.  There is so much there.  What do I focus on, and what do I meditate on, because God’s goodness just overflows in what I read and see.  So often the small things that God does are reflected in my life with great joy and I am so grateful.  It makes me wonder, do I then in turn find sources of inspiration in all the Scripture I read because I already know joy?  I worry about the people who read Scripture, or pray, or read inspirational books and get nothing out of them.  I always encourage them to try again, and I pray that they will come to know God in  a deeper way, so that they will be able to see the wonder of his hand in everything around them.

Today I have seen God’s hand in the kind call of a friend…. the extremely pastoral and understanding comment in another friend’s email ……. in the kindness of a stranger who assisted me in the parking lot at the store…. the conversation I had with a lovely woman in the parking lot of my townhouse….

It really is those multitude of small things that add up, and make me say, “Wow, God is good and he has surrounded me with good people.”  

google images

In weeks like this which have been full and busy, and included tough decisions and tough news, those little love bombs from God make so much difference.  

All I can say is “thank you God.” …. and if you have been one of those people who love bombed me today…. “thank you.  Your kindness and grace mean the world to me.”

 

