Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The last few days the hymn “Simply Trusting Every Day” has been going through my head.  These words resonate strongly with me, because right now, at half-pay and no clear indication of where God is sending me next, that trust that I have in him, is all that I have.  And that’s not half-bad.  These are the words….

  • Simply trusting every day;
    Trusting through a stormy way;
    Even when my faith is small,
    Trusting Jesus, that is all.
  • Trusting as the moments fly,
    Trusting as the days go by,
    Trusting Him, whate’er befall,
    Trusting Jesus, that is all.

Source: http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/569#ixzz2DSX5pBeC

google images

The one thing that I always want to model is the faith and trust that I have in God.  And that seemed to be a theme that came up again and again today in the discussions that we had at the Covenant Group that I belong to.  One person talked about a dream he was having and waking up to the epiphany moment of the question…..”What if God shuts his eyes for a couple of minutes.”  That thought turned a vivid nightmare into something to laugh about, because after all God neither slumbers nor sleeps.

Even in my current stormy way, I know that God cares for me, and that he cares deeply about the current trials and tribulations of my life.  It is a true gift to be able to relax and leave the worrying to God.  I’m not saying that I don’t take up the worry bone from time to time, but what I am doing is to learn to drop it so that God can carry it.  And oh it is such a blessed relief to let go and let God.

I have no doubt that the commitment that I have made to spend time with God on a daily basis is making a difference in my ability to trust him.  Filling myself with his word, and coming to know him in prayer and learning to listen for his voice in the silence, keeps me grounded in the source of all blessing.  Today as part of our Bible Study we read Psalm 1, and the Translation “The Message” by Eugene Peterson says,

How well God must like you—
you don’t hang out at Sin Saloon,
you don’t slink along Dead-End Road,
you don’t go to Smart-Mouth College.

Instead you thrill to God’s Word,
you chew on Scripture day and night.
You’re a tree replanted in Eden,
bearing fresh fruit every month,
Never dropping a leaf,
always in blossom.

I love that image of being replanted in Eden.  There is a great deal of comfort and hope in that image.  I don’t need to strive and worry.  I don’t need to plot and scheme.  I just need to let go and let God and he will take care of it.

The one thing that I am most certain about is that God will take care of the calling he has given me.  There is a new congregation for me to go to…. in God’s time.

A friend who is wondering where her calling will take her next put it this way in her blog

I’ve surrendered and now I wait. I wait to be moved and changed and pushed where I need to go. I wait to discover the permanent place God wants me. I’ve surrendered into waiting and in that waiting I’m learning patience, trust and exercising more faith than I might’ve thought possible.                                                                 Becky, at http://www.ministrytomotherhood.com/2012/11/27/surrender/

I like that.  There is a sense of calmness and sureness.  This is hope that is grounded deep in God and which rests on God’s everlasting arms.  That display of confidence in God makes me want to sing with abandon….

  • Trusting as the moments fly,
    Trusting as the days go by,
    Trusting Him, whate’er befall,
    Trusting Jesus, that is all.

Thanks be to God for his indescribable love and his constant care.

