Tags

, , , , , ,

google images

My eldest grandson brought tears to my eyes today.  It was the sweetest thing ever and it simply melted my heart.  Our conversation went along these lines….

You can come to my house and see my Christmas tree.

I love you lots and lots Grammie.

I like to color and draw with you.

By the time he said his usual hasty I love you, good bye and smacked a kiss near the phone, there were tears running down my cheeks.  He’s not even four, what’s it going to be like when he hones and develops those skills.  Oh my I am a goner.

Ever since our phone call, I have been wondering what if we treated God that way?   What if we invited God to come on over, told him how much we love him, reminded him of an activity that we really enjoy doing with him?  What would that do for our relationship with God?

Would it melt God’s heart?

More to the point, would it deepen our relationship with God?

I tell you, the thought of driving an  hour to the airport and taking that 3 1/2 hour flight is so appealing right now…. I have a date to see a tree and draw a picture with crayons.  And if I feel this way after that love chat, how much more will God want to come and give us everything we could ever desire?

