Tags

, , , , , , ,

Seen on my way home from the city:

God can make all things new, even you.

I have to admit, that made me chuckle.  There are so many days when I get in the way of God’s renewing work in me, and then there are the days when the circumstances of life overwhelm me and I allow them to distract me from the work God is doing in me.  

It put me in mind of what I was reading earlier today in the book, Longing for God (
Foster and Beebe)….

Success in our spiritual life is measure in terms of our ability to understand and address our own spiritual condition…to discover a life of balance is to find the true source of our happiness in God.  It is to know that our life must connect with God if we are to engage in the activities that bring ultimate meaning to our existence.  It is to submit to a process that takes time and develops across the span of our life…

I don’t know about you, but I would much rather have it done NOW.  If God is going to renew me, why not just do it all at once and be done with it?

Journey

freedigitalphotos.net

You know the answer as well as I do…. I get in the way, circumstances get in the way, and therefore the process takes the span of my life-time and truthfully will not be complete this side of glory.  So if God has  that much patience with me, maybe I should have some patience with him and with myself.  Maybe I should just be grateful that God is renewing me, even if it is only a little  bit at a time.

And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.  Romans 12: 2

The only way to be made new, is to spend time with God and allow God’s will be done in me.  And then I will be on the road to good, acceptable and perfect.  It likely won’t be an easy journey, but it will certainly be a worthwhile journey.

 

