Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I was watching the online streaming of our denominational annual meeting this afternoon.  During the report of the colleges I was struck by a quote that one of the college principals made from Dicken’s, A Tale of two cities.  This is that quote in it’s entirety:

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to heaven, we were all going direct the other way – in short, the period was so far like the present period, that some of its noisiest authorities insisted on its being received, for good or for evil, in the superlative degree of comparison only.

 

What I had never noticed before, and had never thought of before is that for all of us, life and how we respond to it is a choice.  Previously I always thought that Dickens meant that some people had it good while others were doomed for despair…. But that’s not it at all.  Everyone has a choice.

So today I affirm that I am going to make the best of the current situation in my life.  I have no idea of how that will work out, or what shape it will cast for my future, but I will make the best of what God is giving to me.

I will choose wisdom over foolishness.  I will remember that a fool purposes that there is no God, or worse that she herself is a god.  I will choose God.  I will choose to listen to the Holy Spirit.  I will choose the counsel of those whom seek to follow God’s path.  I will choose the best God has to offer.

 

 

I will choose belief over incredulity.  Over doubt.  Over despair.  I will trust in God.  Last night as I was reading in Genesis I noticed that when Abraham and Lot parted ways and Abraham gave Lot the choice of where to settle, Lot choose the best land, and the richest fields.  With grace Abraham consented and sent Lot forth.  Immediately God came and affirmed with Abraham that he was yet to receive the land that was the inheritance of his faith.  Those kind of moments are when hanging on to faith is difficult.  I know those moments, but without faith, my life is empty.  Without God I have nothing.  I choose faith.  I choose the best that God has to offer.

I choose Light.  Some days I feel the darkness pressing in.  With the darkness comes  fear and despair….but with the light there is hope and there is vision.  Not just any vision but the vision that leads to God.  I choose to walk in the light of God’s revelation.  I choose the best that God has to offer.

I choose hope, and I reject the despair that pushes on my heart.  I trust the truth that hope is the substance of things not yet seen.  I choose the best that God has to offer.

I choose everything.  The alternative is to choose nothing yet God’s word tells us that he waits to give us the desires of our hearts.  I choose the blessing of God’s everything.  I choose the best that God has to offer.

 

I choose heaven.  I choose the good that God has in store….. and I pray that for all those around me, this choice will also lead them to a closeness, a fondness, and a trusting love for God….I choose the best that God has to offer.  Today I choose life.

 

